Rwanda vs Uganda Gorilla TrekkingAn Independent Guide Check Availability

Private Gorilla Trekking Safari Uganda

  • 3 daysDuration
  • 5.0 · 47Reviews on Viator
  • From $1,900per person
  • Free cancellation 24hCancellation
Quick answer Price, length and permit

A private gorilla trekking safari in Uganda with Native Africa Tours costs $1,900 per person for 3 days from Kampala, with the gorilla permit not mentioned in the listing.

Key takeaways

A young mountain gorilla with wide brown eyes in front of broad green leaves
5.0★47 reviews
$1,900per person
3 daysduration
Freecancellation 24
Check Availability

Sold and operated by Native Africa Tours. Booked and paid through Viator. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you. Compare all gorilla tours in Rwanda and Uganda

A private gorilla trekking safari, Uganda only: Native Africa Tours runs it for 3 days from Kampala to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park at $1,900 per person. The listing does not say whether the gorilla permit is inside that price, so ask the operator before you book. The trip suits travelers who want their own vehicle and driver-guide rather than a shared departure. It also covers a Batwa community visit, Equator photography stops and scenic viewing, with breakfast, lunch and dinner included. For a straight comparison of both countries, see the guide to Rwanda vs Uganda gorilla trekking.

About This Tour

Native Africa Tours runs this private 3 day gorilla trekking safari in Uganda from Kampala to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park. The price is $1,900 per person and covers an air-conditioned vehicle, all fees and taxes, and breakfast, lunch and dinner. A Batwa community visit, Equator photography and scenic viewing are also part of the trip.

The trek itself happens in any of the four sectors of Bwindi, so the operator decides the sector. The listing does not state whether the gorilla permit is in the price, which changes the real bill a lot. Ask before you pay. The rating is 5 from 47 reviews on Viator and Tripadvisor.

Price
$1,900 per person. The gorilla permit is not mentioned in the listing, so ask the operator whether it is included.
Gorilla permit
The listing does not say whether the gorilla permit is in the price: ask the operator before booking.
Length
3 days, from Kampala.
Start point
Hotel pickup in Kampala is included. No meeting point or pickup window is stated.
Group size
Private departure. No maximum group size is stated.
Cancellation
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before the scheduled departure time.

Day by Day

Three days from Kampala to Bwindi and back, with the Batwa visit and the Equator stop. Clock times are not stated on the listing.

  1. Pickup

    Kampala to Bwindi

    Hotel pickup in Kampala in an air-conditioned vehicle. Drive west towards Bwindi with photography stops at the Equator and scenic viewing. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are included.

  2. The trek

    Gorilla trekking in Bwindi

    Trek in one of Bwindi's four sectors with rangers, up to eight visitors per gorilla group. Treks run 2 to 7 hours and end with 60 minutes with the gorillas, kept 10 m away. Minimum age 15.

  3. Batwa visit

    Batwa community visit

    Visit the Batwa community, listed as an included extra alongside scenic viewing opportunities.

  4. Drive back

    Return to Kampala

    Breakfast, lunch and dinner are included on the return drive. Free cancellation applies until 24 hours before the original departure time.

Twa dancers in grass skirts performing in front of a thatched hut

Twa dancers performing. Photo: Ludovic Hirlimann, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

What the Price Covers

The listing lists its inclusions and exclusions in one block without separating them, so we split them here using the booking details. Check the final breakdown on the booking page before you pay.

Included

The listing states breakfast, lunch and dinner, an air-conditioned vehicle, all fees and taxes, hotel pickup, a visit to the Batwa community, photography at the Equator and scenic viewing opportunities.

Not Included

The listing states visa and airtickets, optional activities and tips. Drinks are not mentioned anywhere in the listing, so assume they are on you.

The Honest Note About the Permit

The gorilla permit is not mentioned in the inclusions or the exclusions. The Uganda permit costs $800 for foreign non-residents, so this changes the real total a lot. Ask Native Africa Tours directly whether the permit is in the $1,900 before you book, and get the answer in writing.

ItemIn the priceNotes
Air-conditioned vehicleYesPrivate departure, pickup included
Breakfast, lunch and dinnerYesThree meals a day across 3 days
All fees and taxesYesAs stated on the listing
Batwa community visitYesListed as an included extra
Equator photography stopYesListed as an included extra
Gorilla permitNot statedAsk the operator before booking
Visa and air ticketsNoStated exclusion
TipsNoStated exclusion
Optional activitiesNoStated exclusion
DrinksNot statedNot mentioned on the listing

Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.

Pros and Cons

An honest read of the listing against the other Uganda tours on the site.

What we genuinely like

  • Private departure with hotel pickup in Kampala
  • Breakfast, lunch and dinner and all fees and taxes included
  • Batwa community visit and Equator photography at no extra cost, per the listing
  • 5 rating from 47 reviews
  • Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure

The honest downsides

  • The listing does not say whether the $800 gorilla permit is in the $1,900, so the real total is unclear until you ask
  • No departure or return times are stated anywhere on the listing
  • No sector, lodge or maximum group size is stated
  • Tips, drinks and optional activities are excluded

Who it's NOT for: Travelers who want the permit locked into the headline price should look at Eco Adventure 3-Day Gorillas and Batwa Trip at $1,860 with the Uganda permit included.

Before You Go

Uganda has firm entry and health rules. Sort the visa and the yellow fever certificate well before pickup day.

Visa

Uganda Immigration states there are no visas on arrival, so apply online and carry the approval letter. The single entry tourist visa costs $50 and needs a passport valid at least 6 months after arrival. If you plan to add Rwanda or Kenya, the East Africa Tourist Visa costs $100, covers all three for 90 days and is issued by the first country of entry.

Health

The CDC says the yellow fever vaccine is required for all travelers arriving in Uganda aged 1 year or older, so carry the certificate. It also recommends prescription malaria medicine, with risk throughout the country.

Permit Timing

Operators pay for Uganda permits in full at booking, so book early for the dates you want. Do the same for the trek itself: the tour runs in bad weather, and free cancellation ends 24 hours before departure.

What to Bring and Wear

The Gorilla Friendly Pledge guidance recommends hiking boots or sturdy shoes, waterproof clothing, long sleeves and gloves. Bwindi trails are steep and muddy in any month and the rains make them slower. Porters are available to carry backpacks and help on the route, though no porter fee is printed on the official pages.

Bring a rain layer, water and snacks, and a camera without flash.

Sources: Uganda Immigration, CDC Travel Health, Uganda Wildlife Authority.

When Is the Best Time for a Private Gorilla Safari?

Permits for mountain gorilla trekking in Uganda are available throughout the year, so timing is mostly about trail conditions.

Dry and Wet Months

Explore Uganda puts the wet seasons at March to May and September to November, and the dry seasons at December to February and June to August. It calls June to August ideal for gorilla trekking in Bwindi because the trails are drier. Wet season temperatures run 17-25 C and dry season temperatures 24-30 C.

Permits and the Low Season

The Uganda Wildlife Authority sells permits all year. From its 2026 changes, April, May and November carry a low season gorilla tracking rate of $600 for foreign non-residents, and those permits cannot be rescheduled. On a private departure you can pick your dates around that, but you pay in full at booking.

Sources: Explore Uganda, Uganda Wildlife Authority.

A mountain gorilla climbing a tree trunk in the forest of Bwindi

A mountain gorilla climbing a tree in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park. Photo: Giles Laurent, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Watch a Trek in Bwindi

The walk through Bwindi's forest to a gorilla family, filmed by a zoologist. Third-party video by Roxy the Zoologist. This site did not shoot it and has no relationship with the creator.

What Does Going Private Change?

A private departure buys you a vehicle and driver-guide of your own. Some things stay shared.

Vehicle and Guide

You get the air-conditioned vehicle and the driver-guide without strangers. Pickup in Kampala happens at your schedule, not a fixed meeting point, and no maximum group size is stated on the listing.

Pace and Sector Choice

The operator treks in any of the four sectors of Bwindi, and a private booking gives you room to talk about which one. Longer trips such as the 5-day Prime Safaris 5-Day Gorillas and Chimps add chimpanzees if you want more than gorillas.

What Stays Shared

The trek itself never goes private. Rangers lead groups of eight visitors per gorilla group, and you join one. The hour with the gorillas is shared with the other seven trekkers in your ranger group.

Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.

How the Tour Runs

The listing gives the route in outline only. No departure time, meeting point or sector is stated, so the table marks those as not stated.

The Shape of the 3 Days

Day one is the drive from Kampala towards Bwindi, with photography at the Equator on the way. UWA puts Kampala to Kabale at about 414 km of tarmac, roughly 6 hours, then about 120 km of murram road to the Buhoma area, roughly 5 more hours, and recommends a 4WD. Day two is the gorilla trek and the Batwa community visit.

Day three is the drive back to Kampala. The listing states no clock times, so ask the operator for pickup and return times when you book.

Part of the tourTimeNotes
Hotel pickup in KampalaNot statedPickup included, no window given
Drive to BwindiNot statedEquator photography stop en route
Park briefingNot statedUWA registration is at park entry on the trek day
The gorilla trekNot stated2 to 7 hours plus 60 minutes with the gorillas
Batwa community visitNot statedListed as an included extra
Drive back to KampalaNot statedDay three of three

The Return

No return time to Kampala is stated. If you have a flight out that evening, confirm the drop-off time with the operator before you book an onward ticket.

Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.

The Park and the Gorilla Trek

The trek happens in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, in any of its four sectors. UWA says the park protects roughly half of the world's mountain gorillas, about 459 of them across 321 km2 at altitudes of 1,160 m to 2,607 m.

Trek Rules in Bwindi

Uganda sets the minimum trekking age at 15 years, a maximum of eight visitors per gorilla group, a 10 m distance from the gorillas and a one hour visit. Treks last between 2 and 7 hours with 60 minutes of observation. Flash photography is banned.

The listing's own 15-90 age band is a booking category, not the park rule, though the two happen to agree on 15. Anyone ill is turned back, so a cold costs you the trek.

The Permit and How It Is Bought

The Uganda gorilla permit costs $800 for foreign non-residents, $700 for foreign residents and $500 for Rest of Africa. UWA says permits for foreign non-residents can only be booked through licensed tour operators, and since the 7-day reservation window was suspended, operators pay in full at booking. This listing does not say whether that permit sits inside the $1,900, so ask.

The Border Question

This tour starts in Kampala, so you fly into Uganda and need a Ugandan visa. Travelers who are already in Rwanda sometimes reach Bwindi from Kigali instead, crossing at Katuna or Cyanika, but this listing does not offer that route. The Bugoli 2-Day Bwindi Gorilla Trek from Kigali does.

The Same Trip Across the Border

Rwanda offers the same one-hour gorilla encounter at Volcanoes National Park with a $1,500 permit from the Rwanda Development Board, a 7:00 am briefing at Kinigi, hikes of 30 minutes to four or more hours at 2,500-4,000 m and a three-hour drive from Kigali per Visit Rwanda. Rwanda also gives a visa on arrival at $50. It suits travelers short on days or already based in Kigali.

One-day tours there run from $260 plus the permit (Vista Safaris Gorilla Day Trip from Kigali) or $2,650 with the permit included (Shalom Safaris 1-Day Trek, Permit Included). For a full country comparison see Rwanda vs Uganda gorilla trekking or Uganda vs Rwanda gorilla trekking.

Sources: Uganda Wildlife Authority, Visit Rwanda.

How Hard Is Gorilla Trekking in Uganda?

The listing asks for at least moderate physical fitness and warns two groups of travelers off entirely.

What the Listing Says

Travelers should have at least a moderate level of physical fitness, and the tour is not recommended for travelers with spinal injuries or poor cardiovascular health. The trek runs in bad weather.

Sectors and Pace

Bwindi has four trekking sectors: Buhoma, Ruhija, Rushaga and Nkuringo, each with different trail profiles, and the operator chooses the sector. Treks last 2 to 7 hours before your 60 minutes with the gorillas. The park climbs from 1,160 m to 2,607 m, so altitude and mud both slow the pace.

Make It Easier

Porters are available to carry backpacks and cameras and help on steep sections. Hiring one on a wet day is cheap insurance against a slip, whatever your fitness level.

Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.

Questions About This Tour

Does this private gorilla trekking safari in Uganda include the permit?

The listing does not say whether the gorilla permit is in the $1,900 per person, so ask Native Africa Tours before booking. Eco Adventure 3-Day Gorillas and Batwa Trip states its permit is included.

How much does it cost to trek with gorillas in Uganda?

The Uganda gorilla permit costs $800 for foreign non-residents on top of whatever your tour charges, and permits can only be booked through licensed tour operators. See the full breakdown on the homepage cost section.

How fit do I need to be for this tour?

The listing asks for at least moderate physical fitness and is not recommended for travelers with spinal injuries or poor cardiovascular health. Bwindi treks run 2 to 7 hours, and how hard the trek is explains the terrain.

Where does the trek happen?

In any of the four sectors of Bwindi Impenetrable National Park: Buhoma, Ruhija, Rushaga or Nkuringo, chosen by the operator. The park details are in the park and the gorilla trek.

Can children join the trek?

The trek minimum age is 15 years in Uganda, set by the Uganda Wildlife Authority. The listing's 15-90 age band is a booking category that happens to match it. Rules are covered in the park and the gorilla trek.

How do I get to Uganda for this safari?

Fly to Uganda and apply for the e-visa online before travel, since there are no visas on arrival, or use the $100 East Africa Tourist Visa if you will also visit Rwanda or Kenya. Entry rules are in before you go.

What if I need to cancel?

Cancel at least 24 hours before the scheduled departure time for a full refund, and note the tour runs in bad weather. More on what the price covers is in what the price covers.

Compare with

Read Next

Compare dates for this private 3 day Uganda gorilla safari before permits sell out.

Free cancellation is offered up to 24 hours before the scheduled departure time.

Check Availability

Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure

From $1,900 per person Check Availability