Gorilla Trekking and Batwa Experience
- 3 daysDuration
- 5.0 · 73Reviews on Viator
- From $1,860per person
- Full refund 6 days ahead, 50% between 2 and 6 days, no refund within 2 daysCancellation
Quick answer Price, permit and what you get
This gorilla trekking and Batwa experience costs $1,860 per person for 3 days from Entebbe or Kampala, with the $800 Uganda gorilla permit already included. It is a private trip with meals, accommodation and transport covered, and visas and tips are not. The rating is 5.0 from 73 reviews.
Key takeaways
- See exactly what the $1,860 covers in what the price covers
- Read how the trek day and the Batwa day run in how the tour runs
- Compare the same trip in Rwanda on the Rwanda vs Uganda gorilla trekking homepage
- Shorter or cheaper Uganda alternatives: Dav Safaris 3-Day Uganda Gorilla Safari and Bugoli 1-Day Bwindi Gorilla Trek from Kigali
Sold and operated by Eco Adventure Safaris. Booked and paid through Viator. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you. Compare all gorilla tours in Rwanda and Uganda
This gorilla trekking and Batwa experience is a 3-day private trip from Entebbe or Kampala run by Eco Adventure Safaris. It costs $1,860 per person and the Uganda gorilla permit of $800 is inside that price, which is the single biggest cost of the trip. The itinerary pairs a trek in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park or Mgahinga Gorilla National Park with a Batwa cultural visit, with private transport, an English speaking driver guide, meals, drinking water and accommodation included. Visas, international flights and tips are extra. This page explains what the price covers, how the days fit together and who should instead compare it in the Rwanda vs Uganda gorilla trekking guide.
About This Tour
Eco Adventure Safaris runs this 3-day express trip for travellers short on time in Uganda. The listing names Bwindi Impenetrable National Park or Mgahinga Gorilla National Park as the trek park and adds a Batwa Pygmies experience. You travel in an air-conditioned private vehicle with an English speaking driver guide, and pickup is included from any point in Entebbe or Kampala.
The price is $1,860 per person and the gorilla permit of $800 per trek is part of it. Accommodation, breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinking water are also covered. The listing has a 5.0 rating from 73 reviews on Viator.
$1,860 per person, with the $800 Uganda gorilla permit included, plus all fees and taxes
Uganda gorilla permit ($800) included in the price
3 days, meeting at any point in Entebbe or Kampala
Pickup at any point in Entebbe or Kampala, no departure time stated
Private tour, no maximum group size stated
Full refund 6 days ahead, 50% refund between 2 and 6 days, no refund within 2 days of departure
Check Dates and Availability
Permit dates decide this trip, so check the calendar before you commit to flights. The widget below shows live availability for this listing.
You'll confirm the exact date and time on the secure booking page.
Itinerary
The listing states three parts without clock times, so phases are labelled and UWA's published figures fill the gaps.
-
Day 1, pickup
Meet in Entebbe or Kampala
The driver meets you at any point in Entebbe or Kampala in an air-conditioned private vehicle. No departure time is stated, so agree the start when booking. The drive west is long: UWA puts Kampala to Kisoro at about 9 hours, and Bwindi's Buhoma sector takes roughly 6 hours to Kabale plus 5 more on murram roads.
-
Day 1, evening
Overnight near the park
Accommodation is included, though the lodge is not named. Dinner is covered by the listing.
-
Day 2, briefing
Park registration and briefing
Registration and briefing happen at the park entry before tracking begins. The listing does not state which sector, Buhoma, Ruhija, Rushaga or Nkuringo, your permit is issued for, so ask the operator.
-
Day 2, the trek
Gorilla trek in Bwindi or Mgahinga
UWA puts Uganda treks at 2 to 7 hours with 60 minutes with the gorillas, in groups of up to eight, keeping 10 m away, no flash photography. Breakfast and lunch are covered.
-
Day 3, culture
Batwa Pygmies experience
A guided Batwa visit with demonstrations of hunting, fire making and herbal medicine, ending with music and dance. The UWA tariff lists the Batwa Trail at $40 for foreign non-residents, so confirm whether it is inside your price.
-
Day 3, return
Drive back to Entebbe or Kampala
The private vehicle returns you to the start city. No return time is stated.
A mountain gorilla in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda. Photo: Diego Delso, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
What the Price Covers
The $1,860 is a full-board price with the gorilla permit inside it. The table below separates what the listing includes from what you pay on top, using only the figures the listing itself states.
How the Listings Compare
The table sets these figures side by side, and anything not stated is marked that way.
| Item | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Gorilla permit ($800) | Yes | Per person per trek, Uganda permit |
| Private vehicle and driver guide | Yes | Air-conditioned, English speaking |
| Accommodation and meals | Yes | Lodge not named, breakfast, lunch, dinner, drinking water |
| Batwa experience | Not stated | UWA tariff lists the Batwa Trail at $40, confirm with the operator |
| Uganda visa ($50) | No | Apply online before travel |
| International flights | No | Book separately |
| Tips and personal expenses | No | No amount stated |
Included in the $1,860
The listing includes the Gorilla Trekking Permit of $800 per person per trek, private transportation in an air-conditioned vehicle, an English speaking driver guide, accommodation, breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinking water. Meet and greet services, WiFi on board and all fees and taxes are also listed as included. That makes this one of the few listings on this site where the permit is genuinely inside the headline price rather than added on top.
- Gorilla permit ($800 per person per trek)
- Private air-conditioned vehicle and driver guide
- Accommodation, breakfast, lunch, dinner, drinking water
- Meet and greet services, WiFi on board, all fees and taxes
Not Included, Paid on Top
The exclusions list names visas, international flight fares, tips and any personal expenses. The Uganda single entry tourist visa is $50 and must be applied for online in advance. Tips are not given a figure anywhere in the listing, so budget your own amount and ask the operator what is customary.
Porters are not mentioned in the listing at all, so if you want one on the trail, arrange it locally and confirm any fee with the operator, because no porter fee is published on the official park pages either.
A Contradiction to Check Before Booking
The listing does not state its Bwindi sector, its departure time or its pickup window, so ask which sector your permit is for before you book hotels around it. The listing also carries one internal contradiction worth flagging plainly: it is sold as an all-inclusive trip with all fees and taxes covered, yet the same inclusions block lists items without stating whether the Batwa experience fee sits inside that. The official UWA tariff puts the Batwa Trail Experience in Bwindi at $40 for foreign non-residents, excluding entrance fees.
Confirm on the booking page whether that $40 is part of your price or a separate payment, because the listing text does not settle it.
Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.
A Batwa music performance in Uganda. Photo: Owobusingye, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Pros and Cons
An honest read of this listing against the other Uganda and Rwanda options on the site.
What we genuinely like
- The $800 Uganda gorilla permit is genuinely inside the $1,860 price, so the headline cost is close to the real cost
- Batwa cultural experience is built into the 3 days rather than sold as an add-on
- Private air-conditioned vehicle, English speaking driver guide, all meals and accommodation included
- Pickup from any point in Entebbe or Kampala, wheelchair accessible throughout, 5.0 rating from 73 reviews
The honest downsides
- The drive from Entebbe or Kampala is brutal: UWA puts Kampala to Kisoro at about 9 hours, so two of the three days are largely road
- The listing does not state the Bwindi sector, departure time, pickup window or return time, all of which you need before booking flights
- It does not say whether the Batwa fee, listed at $40 on the UWA tariff, is inside the price, so confirm on the booking page
- No refund within 2 days of departure, and the permit is paid in full at booking with no reschedule window
- Infants and children under 15 are in the booking bands but cannot join the trek itself
Who it's NOT for: Travellers flying into Kigali who want to avoid two long road days should book the Bugoli 2-Day Bwindi Gorilla Trek from Kigali or, for a same-day return, the Bugoli 1-Day Bwindi Gorilla Trek from Kigali.
Before You Go
Uganda has stricter entry rules than Rwanda on visas and vaccination proof, and the trek itself demands wet-forest gear. Sort these before you fly.
Visa and Health Documents
Uganda has no visas on arrival: Uganda Immigration requires all visa-prone travellers to apply online and carry the approval letter. The single entry tourist visa is $50, the approval is valid for 90 days from issue and the visa can be granted for up to 3 months, with a passport valid at least 6 months after arrival. If you plan to add Rwanda or Kenya, the East African Tourist Visa costs $100, covers all three countries, is valid 90 days and is issued by the first country of entry.
A yellow fever vaccination certificate is required for all travellers arriving in Uganda aged 1 year or older, per the CDC, and CDC also recommends prescription malaria medicine, with risk throughout the country.
Permits, Deadlines and Payment
Your $800 permit is bought by the operator as part of this booking, and UWA requires foreign non-resident permits to be booked through licensed tour operators and paid in full at booking since the 7-day unpaid reservation window was suspended. Cancellation terms are tight: full refund 6 or more days before departure, 50% between 2 and 6 days, and nothing within 2 days, so lock your flights before you pay.
What to Bring and Who Can Trek
Trails in Bwindi are steep and muddy in any month and rain makes them slower, so pack hiking boots, waterproof clothing, long sleeves and gloves, following the Gorilla Friendly Pledge guidance. Wear a facemask at the gorillas, keep 10 m away and leave no waste. The minimum trek age is 15, the listing asks for at least a moderate level of physical fitness, and it is not recommended for travellers with spinal injuries, pregnant travellers or those with poor cardiovascular health.
Porters are available to carry packs and help on the route, though no porter fee is published, so agree it locally. The trip is wheelchair accessible throughout and specialised infant seats are available, but infants cannot join the trek itself.
Sources: Uganda Immigration, CDC Travel Health, Uganda Wildlife Authority, Visit Rwanda.
How the Tour Runs
The listing gives a three-part structure: pickup in Entebbe or Kampala, the gorilla trek, and the Batwa Pygmies experience. It does not publish clock times, so the table marks those as not stated.
How the Listings Compare
The table sets these figures side by side, and anything not stated is marked that way.
| Part of the tour | Time | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Pickup in Entebbe or Kampala | Not stated | Any meeting point, private vehicle |
| Drive to Bwindi or Mgahinga | Not stated | UWA: Kampala to Kisoro about 9 hours, Buhoma about 11 hours total |
| Gorilla trek | Not stated | UWA: treks last 2 to 7 hours, 60 minutes with the gorillas |
| Batwa Pygmies experience | Not stated | UWA tariff: Batwa Trail $40, entrance fees excluded |
| Return to Entebbe or Kampala | Not stated | End point is the start city |
Start and Pickup
The meeting point is any point in Entebbe or Kampala, and pickup is included. No departure time is stated and no pickup window is given, so agree the morning start with the operator when you book. Entebbe sits about 40 km south west of Kampala, connected by a 42 km road, per Uganda's civil aviation authority.
The long drive west is the reality of this trip: UWA puts Kampala to Kabale at about 414 km of tarmac, roughly 6 hours, then about 120 km of murram road to Buhoma, roughly 5 more hours, with a 4WD recommended. Kampala to Kisoro, the gateway for Mgahinga, takes about 9 hours. The listing names no lodge, so where you overnight in between is not stated.
The Trek Day
The trek happens in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park or Mgahinga Gorilla National Park, whichever the operator assigns with your permit. UWA says Uganda gorilla treks last between 2 and 7 hours with 60 minutes of observation. Bwindi has four sectors, Buhoma, Ruhija, Rushaga and Nkuringo, and the listing does not say which one your permit is for.
On the ground the trek day runs with a registration and briefing at the park entry before tracking starts, following the standard Uganda procedure.
The Batwa Day and the Return
The Batwa Pygmies experience is the third part of the itinerary, then the trip returns to Entebbe or Kampala. No return time is stated and the listing does not say whether the Batwa visit happens before or after the drive back, so confirm the running order. A table of the three stated parts:
Sources: Uganda Wildlife Authority, Uganda Wildlife Authority, Uganda Civil Aviation Authority.
Watch a Bwindi Gorilla Trek
A recent trek in Bwindi, from the trailhead to a family with young gorillas. Third-party video by West Goes East. This site did not shoot it and has no relationship with the creator.
How Do the Gorilla Day and the Batwa Day Fit Together?
This trip separates the two headline activities across days rather than squeezing them into one. Here is how the sequencing works and why it matters.
Day 2 Trek, Day 3 Batwa
The standard shape of a 3-day gorilla and Batwa itinerary is day 1 for the long drive west, day 2 for gorilla trekking in Bwindi, and day 3 for the Batwa Cultural Experience before the return journey. That structure gives the trek its own full morning, which it needs, because Uganda gorilla treks run from 2 to 7 hours before the one hour with the gorillas even starts.
Why Not the Same Day
Can you do gorilla trekking and the Batwa experience on the same day? In practice the trek dominates the day, since a 7-hour trek plus briefing and the hour with the gorillas leaves no realistic room for a cultural visit in daylight. Putting the Batwa visit on the day after the trek also gives you a gentler morning if the trek ran long.
If your schedule only allows one day in the parks, look at a single-park itinerary instead, such as the Dav Safaris 3-Day Uganda Gorilla Safari, or a Rwanda day trip from Kigali like the Vista Safaris Gorilla Day Trip from Kigali, which leave the Batwa visit out.
Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.
The Park and the Gorilla Trek
The trek happens in Uganda, most likely in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, with Mgahinga Gorilla National Park as the listing's alternative. Here are the rules that apply on the trail and what the permit costs.
Bwindi or Mgahinga: the Parks on This Route
UWA says Bwindi Impenetrable National Park covers 321 km2 at 1,160 m to 2,607 m above sea level and protects roughly half of the world's mountain gorilla population, about 459 animals after the 2018 Bwindi-Sarambwe census. It has four trekking sectors: Buhoma, Ruhija, Rushaga and Nkuringo. Mgahinga is Uganda's smallest national park at 33.7 km2, holds one habituated gorilla group and issues about 8 permits per day, so Bwindi is the realistic park for most bookings.
The drive from Kampala is long: about 414 km of tarmac to Kabale in roughly 6 hours, then 120 km of murram to Buhoma in roughly 5 more, and about 9 hours to Kisoro for Mgahinga. Kisoro and Kihihi airstrips have daily flights from Entebbe, the Kisoro flight taking about 1 hour 10 minutes.
The Rules on the Trail
Uganda's gorilla rules set the minimum age at 15 years, a maximum of eight visitors per group, a 10 m distance from the gorillas, one hour per group per day and no flash photography. Treks last between 2 and 7 hours with 60 minutes of observation. The minimum age matters here: the listing's own age bands, from infant 1-10 to senior 40-100, are booking categories, not the trek rule, so a child of 12 in the CHILD band still cannot trek.
Anyone with a cold, flu or other contagious illness is turned back, so travellers who are ill on the day lose the permit. Book through a licensed operator, because UWA says foreign non-resident permits can only be booked that way, and since 1 March 2026 they are paid in full at booking with no unpaid hold window.
The Permit and the Border
The Uganda gorilla permit for foreign non-residents is $800 in the July 2024 to June 2026 tariff, and it is included in this tour's $1,860. UWA has also introduced low season rates for April, May and November at $600 for gorilla tracking for foreign non-residents, and those permits cannot be rescheduled. For travel via Kigali instead of Entebbe, the route crosses into Uganda at Katuna in Kabale district or Cyanika in Kisoro district, both listed immigration points.
No official drive time from Kigali to Bwindi exists, so let the operator state its own timings for that routing.
The Same Trip Across the Border
The same trek in Rwanda runs in Volcanoes National Park, where the permit is $1,500 from the Rwanda Development Board, bought on its portal or through an operator. You report at Kinigi at 7:00 am, keep 7 m from the gorillas instead of 10 m, and hikes last from 30 minutes to four or more hours at 2,500 m to 4,000 m. The park sits about three hours by road from Kigali per Visit Rwanda, which is why day trips work there: one-day tours from Kigali run from $260 plus the permit with Vista Safaris Gorilla Day Trip from Kigali or $2,650 with the permit included in Shalom Safaris 1-Day Trek, Permit Included.
Rwanda gives a visa on arrival at $50, while Uganda requires an online e-visa. Travellers who want a short, permit-free-of-surprise add-on to a Kigali trip should look at Rwanda instead, and travellers who want chimpanzees too can compare Prime Safaris 5-Day Gorillas and Chimps. This tour suits those starting from Entebbe or Kampala who want the lower $800 permit and the Batwa visit built in.
Sources: Uganda Wildlife Authority, Uganda Wildlife Authority, Uganda Wildlife Authority, Uganda Wildlife Authority, Rwanda Development Board, Visit Rwanda, Uganda Immigration.
What Is the Batwa Cultural Experience?
The Batwa Pygmies experience is the cultural half of this tour. It is a guided visit led by people from the Batwa community, showing how they lived in the forest.
What Happens on the Visit
Guides from the Batwa community teach visitors how the Batwa used bows and arrows for hunting, made fire without matches and prepared herbal medicines from forest plants. The visit ends with traditional music and dance. It is hands-on rather than a museum visit, and it runs in the Bwindi area where the Batwa lived before the park was gazetted.
How Long the Forest Connection Runs
The Batwa are believed to have spent over 500,000 years in the forest as hunters and gatherers. That depth of history is what separates this experience from a generic village tour, and it is why pairing it with the gorilla trek has become the standard 3-day shape in Bwindi. The official UWA tariff lists the Batwa Trail Experience in Bwindi at $40 for foreign non-residents, excluding park entrance fees, so use that figure when you confirm what this listing includes.
Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.
Who Are the Batwa and How Does Your Visit Help?
The Batwa are described as the original inhabitants of the Bwindi forest. Here is their history and where your visit fee goes.
Forest History and Displacement
The Batwa lived as hunters and gatherers inside what is now Bwindi Impenetrable National Park for millennia. When the forest became a national park, they lost their home and their hunting grounds, and were resettled outside its boundaries. The Batwa Cultural Experience is led by Batwa elders, which keeps the telling in their own hands and directs income to the community rather than to outside intermediaries.
What Your Fee Supports
Your visit fee, $40 for foreign non-residents on the UWA tariff for the Batwa Trail in Bwindi, goes toward the community that runs it. Exact breakdowns of how fees are distributed are not published on the official pages, so ask the operator how the payment reaches the community. Choosing an itinerary that schedules the Batwa visit, as this one does, is the practical way a trekking budget reaches the forest's former residents.
Source: Uganda Wildlife Authority.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does this gorilla trekking and Batwa experience cost?
It costs $1,860 per person for 3 days, and the Uganda gorilla permit of $800 is included in that price. Visas, international flights and tips are extra, and the full cost picture is in what the price covers.
Is the gorilla permit included in the $1,860?
Yes, the listing states the Gorilla Trekking Permit of $800 per person per trek is included. That is rare, since many Uganda listings leave the $800 permit on top, as the Rwanda vs Uganda gorilla trekking homepage explains.
Can you do gorilla trekking and the Batwa experience on the same day?
No, this itinerary gives each its own day, with the trek before the Batwa visit, because Uganda treks run 2 to 7 hours plus 60 minutes with the gorillas. The sequencing is explained in how the gorilla day and the Batwa day fit together.
What is the Batwa trail?
It is a guided cultural visit in Bwindi led by Batwa guides covering hunting, fire making and herbal medicine, ending with music and dance, priced at $40 for foreign non-residents on the UWA tariff. Details are in what is the Batwa cultural experience.
What should I bring for a 3-day gorilla and Batwa trip?
Bring hiking boots, waterproof clothing, long sleeves and gloves for steep muddy trails, plus your passport, online visa approval and yellow fever certificate. The full list is in before you go.
How old do you have to be to join the gorilla trek?
The minimum trek age is 15 in Uganda under UWA rules, and the listing's own age bands are booking categories, not the trek rule. The park rules are set out in the park and the gorilla trek.
Is there a shorter or cheaper alternative to this tour?
Yes, the Dav Safaris 3-Day Uganda Gorilla Safari also includes the Uganda permit, and the Bugoli 1-Day Bwindi Gorilla Trek from Kigali runs from Kigali at $300 with the $800 permit bought separately.
Compare with
Private 3 Day Gorilla Trekking Safari in Uganda
Private 3 day Uganda gorilla trek with Batwa visit and Equator stop at $1,900 per person, meals included, permit status not stated.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Native Africa Tours
4-Day Uganda Gorilla Trekking and Wildlife Safari
A 4-day private Uganda safari pairing Bwindi gorilla trekking with Queen Elizabeth game drives and Lake Bunyonyi, $2,450 per person, permit status not stated.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Lulu safaris, uganda
3 Days gorilla trekking Safari tour in Uganda
Private three day Uganda gorilla safari with the permit, two nights lodging, meals, a Batwa tour and a Lake Bunyonyi canoe ride for $2600 per person.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Dav Safaris
Read Next
- Mgahinga Gorilla National Park: Uganda's Gorilla Park on the Virunga Volcanoes
Mgahinga Gorilla National Park in 2027: gorilla trekking, golden monkeys, three volcanoes and the Batwa Trail. Plan your Uganda gorilla day.
- Best Time to Visit Uganda for Gorilla Trekking
Plan the best time to visit Uganda in 2027. Two dry seasons, June to September and December to February, See the month table and book.
- Bwindi Impenetrable National Park: Gorilla Trekking in Uganda Compared With Rwanda
Plan Bwindi in 2027: 4 sectors, treks of 2 to 7 hours, permits and how Uganda compares with Rwanda. See tours and book.
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure